IndianAgri

cereal · 2025-26 Final Estimates

Rice in Indiaचावल

154million tonnes · all-India production, 2025-26

Per acre:11.8quintal/acre(converted — 2,915 kg/ha, 2025-26)

What the figures show

8 of 61 reporting states account for three-quarters of India's rice output — led by Uttar Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Telangana. National output has risen 68.5% since 2015-16, from 91.4 million tonnes to 154 million tonnes.

Where Rice grows

lessmore▨ not reported
Production, 2025-26. Each square is one state or union territory — equal squares, so a small state is as visible as a large one.

Ranked states

share of national
  1. 01Uttar Pradesh19.812.9%
  2. 02Telangana18.512.0%
  3. 03West Bengal17.111.1%
  4. 04Punjab12.58.1%
  5. 05Andhra Pradesh10.66.9%
  6. 06Odisha10.26.6%
  7. 07Madhya Pradesh10.16.6%
  8. 08Chhattisgarh9.916.4%
  9. 09Bihar8.755.7%
  10. 10Tamil Nadu7.765.0%

All-India, 2015-16 to 2025-26

984.51138.41292.21446.01599.82015-162016-172017-182018-192019-202020-212021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26
Productionin lakh tonnes

Exports from India

US$ million
YearValue
2025-26$11,537.35 mn
2024-25$12,472.47 mn
2023-24$10,416.71 mn
2022-23$11,144.37 mn
2021-22$9,671.12 mn
2020-21$8,829.21 mn
2019-20$6,403.24 mn
2018-19$7,750.61 mn

Support price

₹ / quintal · marketing season
  • Paddy (Common)Minimum Support Price₹2,4412026-27+72
  • Paddy (Grade 'A')Minimum Support Price₹2,3892025-26+69

The year is the marketing season — KMS for a kharif crop, RMS for a rabi one. That is the season the price is announced for and procured against. MSP for every crop

Beyond the figures — our rice guide covers varieties, cultivation, economics and the latest coverage.

Provenance receipt

TIER A · FINAL ESTIMATES · 3RD ADVANCE ESTIMATES

Source 1 of 3 · agri-exports-2018-19-to-2025-26

Originator
Directorate General of Commercial Intelligence and Statistics (DGCI&S), Kolkata, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Government of India
Release
TRADESTAT — System on India's Export Import Data Bank (EIDB), commodity-wise exports
Accessed
2026-09-16

Source 2 of 3 · foodgrains-all-india-2015-16-to-2024-25

Originator
Directorate of Economics & Statistics, Department of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Government of India
Release
Final Estimate of Production of Food Grains for 2024-25
Accessed
2026-09-15

Source 3 of 3 · statewise-apy-2021-22-to-2025-26

Originator
Directorate of Economics & Statistics, Department of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Government of India
Release
Crop Profile: State-wise Area, Production & Yield of All Crops
Accessed
2026-09-15
Estimate round
Final Estimates · 3rd Advance Estimates
Trust
Primary source, final round — quotable as our figure without qualification.
What is wrong with this data (20)
  • VALUE IN MILLIONS OF US DOLLARS. The portal will also return rupee crore and quantity, but at 4-digit level its Unit column is BLANK — an HS heading can mix units and DGCI&S does not state one — so quantity is not carried. A figure with no unit cannot be published here.
  • FOUR-DIGIT HS HEADINGS, one per crop, taken as published. Going deeper would mean summing sub-headings, and a total we computed is a different kind of number from one DGCI&S published.
  • Onion is NOT carried: heading 0703 is 'onions, shallots, garlic, leeks and other alliaceous vegetables', which is not onion.
  • Coffee (0901) and natural rubber (4001) are not carried: the Atlas has no production series for either, and a crop page holding trade data alone cannot render.
  • Spices are not carried here. They come from the Spices Board report, which is the same DGCI&S data; taking both would put two facts against one dimension tuple.
  • Portal vintage: Data available 2017-2018 to 2025-2026. Last data updated on 07/08/2026. Figures for the most recent year are the ones most likely to be revised.
  • The portal flags some headings with an asterisk, meaning the ITC HS code was dropped or re-allocated and its unit may change from April 2026. This affects comparability across that boundary.
  • Units differ from the horticulture store: AREA IS IN LAKH HECTARES, PRODUCTION IN LAKH TONNES, YIELD IN KG PER HECTARE. The measure keys name their unit so a mix-up cannot pass silently.
  • Columns named Cereals, Nutri/Coarse Cereals, Shree Anna /Nutri Cereals, Small Millets, Other Pulses, Total Food Grains and Total Pulses are AGGREGATES of other rows, not crops. They would double-count if summed.
  • A figure absent in the source is absent, not zero. The source writes '@' and '$' for not-available and those are read as null.
  • This release covers FOODGRAINS only — cereals and pulses. No oilseeds, cotton or sugarcane.
  • These are the NATIONAL figures and are the only correct denominator for a district's or state's share of India.
  • Cotton, jute and mesta are EXCLUDED from this file. The source reports them in lakh bales (cotton 170 kg/bale, jute and mesta 180 kg/bale) while every other figure here is lakh tonnes, and one file declares one unit. They need their own dataset.
  • '@' and '$' in the source mean 'included in Rabi' and 'included in Kharif' respectively — the season split is not separately published, though the crop total is.
  • UNITS ARE LAKH, NOT '000, and differ from the horticulture store: area in lakh hectares, production in lakh tonnes, yield in kg per hectare. The measure keys name their unit so a mix-up cannot pass silently.
  • FIBRE PRODUCTION IS IN BALES, and a bale is not one weight: cotton 170 kg, jute/mesta/sannhemp 180 kg. They share the source's single 'Production' column; the measure key carries the weight so the two can never be summed together or read as tonnes.
  • 2025-26 is the 3rd Advance Estimate, not Final. It is recorded per period and must never be quoted as a settled figure.
  • Rows named Cereals, Jute & Mesta, Nutri/Coarse Cereals, Other Pulses, Shree Anna /Nutri Cereals, Small Millets, Total Food Grains, Total Oil Seeds, Total Pulses are AGGREGATES of other rows, not crops. They would double-count if summed.
  • 'Others' here is the remainder the release has not broken out — the COMPLEMENT of the named states, not a duplicate of them. It never appears beside a named union territory, and including it reconciles 88 of 89 crop-seasons to the all-India figure. It is still never printed as a place.
  • A figure absent in the source is absent, not zero: the export writes an empty cell for missing and a literal 0.00 for a real zero, and the two are never conflated.

Cite the originator and the estimate round, not IndianAgri alone — these are Government of India statistics, compiled here. Original release.

Cite this page

Directorate of Economics & Statistics, Department of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Government of India. Rice production in India, 2025-26 (3rd Advance Estimates). Compiled by IndianAgri. Accessed 15 September 2026. https://indianagri.com/data/crop/rice

The figures are CC BY 4.0 — free to reuse, including commercially, with attribution. Cite the originating department rather than us, and name the estimate round: an advance estimate is a forecast the department will revise, and a figure without its round is not quotable.

Embed this chart

Preview →

<iframe src="https://indianagri.com/embed/crop/rice" width="100%" height="430" loading="lazy" style="border:0" title="Rice production in India — IndianAgri"></iframe>

Put it on any site, free, including commercially. The chart carries its own attribution — originating department, estimate round and a link back — and updates itself when the department publishes a new estimate, so it never goes stale on your page.